PDA

View Full Version : Thermostat suggestions


Username:*
2012-01-20, 11:58 AM
I'm tired of our apartment being freezing, then too hot, then freezing again so I want to change out thermostat out for something better. The management office is fine with it and we're going to be living here for another 2-3 years at least so short-term concerns aren't a huge worry for me either.

I've been looking at the 5 and 7 day programmable touch-screen units but I'm not sure if there's a specific company to look to, to avoid, and what features would be considered the best to try to find. Since it's just an apartment I don't need the nicest one either. I figured I'd spend around $60-$75 on it?

Any suggestions/wisdom? TIA.

CC's70RS
2012-01-20, 12:10 PM
I put a Honeywell programmable t-stat in the foreclosure house I just bought. It was in that same price range. I didn't research it at all, but it was easy to program & is working fine.

If I were you, I'd save the old apartment t-stat, then swap them back when you move, and take the new one with ya.

ForcFed93
2012-01-20, 12:15 PM
I definitely agree with keeping the old stat and reinstalling when you leave. No sense in giving them any more money than you have to.

With that said, in my house the next one I buy will be this: http://www.nest.com/

white01ss
2012-01-20, 12:58 PM
I just installed this one a couple weeks ago. Very easy install

http://www.menards.com/main/heating-cooling/thermostats/7-day-touchscreen-programmable-thermostat/p-1474611.htm

Menards had it on sale for $45

87supraT
2012-01-20, 03:19 PM
I need to do this as well at my apt.

NDWolfwood
2012-01-20, 03:59 PM
if you are able...kc p&l does one for free that works amazingly highly programmable

inis
2012-01-21, 01:27 PM
Get a Nest.

Username:*
2012-01-21, 05:48 PM
The apartment complex called me and told me now that it's not something that they will do. They told me to go the KCPL route, but when I called them they stated they only do it in MO now. Sooooo it looks like I'm boned.

BuddyLee
2012-01-21, 06:08 PM
Wow, the Nest thing looks awesome

BuddyLee
2012-01-21, 06:43 PM
Filtrete 3M50 looks cool too.

I don't have a C wire on mine which would provide power to the stat from the HVAC. This is required for the radio in the 3M50. I wonder if this is the case for the Nest as well.

acvw_insanity
2012-01-21, 07:26 PM
http://www.menards.com/main/heating-cooling/thermostats/smart-temp-reg-1500e-511-day-programmable-thermostat/p-134429-c-6334.htmhttp://www.menards.com/main/heating-cooling/thermostats/smart-temp-reg-1500e-511-day-programmable-thermostat/p-134429-c-6334.htm

I have this one. It's cheap, it does it's job, and there are lots of programming options.

And I wouldnt have said anything to your apartment owner. just swap her out, put the original one in a safe spot and when you move out, put the original one back in and take the nicer one with you. They are easy to install.

01fordgazguzler
2012-01-21, 09:14 PM
There are so many options to list. But as listed above. Check how many wires you currently have. Should save you some pain in the long run.

V-dubbin
2012-01-21, 09:45 PM
Subscribed. Since I live in the same complex and have the same problem.

BuddyLee
2012-01-21, 10:05 PM
According to NEST Support, the NEST doesn't require a C wire to run the WiFi Radio. Instead it uses the battery power to turn the WiFi on and off intermittently.

01fordgazguzler
2012-01-21, 10:39 PM
They're sold out. I wonder if Johnstone has them in stock?

Dave B
2012-01-22, 12:39 PM
A basic programmable Honeywell unit will do you just fine. All you really need is a way to program each day for morning, afternoon, night, and bedtime. Anything more than that really isn't needed.