Go Back   KCSR - THE Kansas City Forum > General Forums > Home Improvement & Do-It-Yourself

KANSAS CITY STREET RACING
Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 2012-01-20, 11:58 AM   #1
Username:*
More awesomer than you
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The banana stand.
Posts: 45,085
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 168
Likes (Given): 337
Likes (Received): 1003
Dislikes (Given): 6
Dislikes (Received): 10
Default Thermostat suggestions

I'm tired of our apartment being freezing, then too hot, then freezing again so I want to change out thermostat out for something better. The management office is fine with it and we're going to be living here for another 2-3 years at least so short-term concerns aren't a huge worry for me either.

I've been looking at the 5 and 7 day programmable touch-screen units but I'm not sure if there's a specific company to look to, to avoid, and what features would be considered the best to try to find. Since it's just an apartment I don't need the nicest one either. I figured I'd spend around $60-$75 on it?

Any suggestions/wisdom? TIA.
Username:* is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-20, 12:10 PM   #2
CC's70RS
 
CC's70RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: KC North
Posts: 867
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 8
Thanks (Received): 13
Likes (Given): 20
Likes (Received): 45
Dislikes (Given): 1
Dislikes (Received): 1
Default

I put a Honeywell programmable t-stat in the foreclosure house I just bought. It was in that same price range. I didn't research it at all, but it was easy to program & is working fine.

If I were you, I'd save the old apartment t-stat, then swap them back when you move, and take the new one with ya.
CC's70RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-20, 12:15 PM   #3
ForcFed93
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 4,565
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 105
Likes (Given): 341
Likes (Received): 718
Dislikes (Given): 2
Dislikes (Received): 30
Default

I definitely agree with keeping the old stat and reinstalling when you leave. No sense in giving them any more money than you have to.

With that said, in my house the next one I buy will be this: http://www.nest.com/
__________________
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Mantooth liked this post
ForcFed93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-20, 12:58 PM   #4
white01ss
 
white01ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: KS
Posts: 2,700
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 73
Likes (Given): 228
Likes (Received): 312
Dislikes (Given): 16
Dislikes (Received): 8
Default

I just installed this one a couple weeks ago. Very easy install

http://www.menards.com/main/heating-.../p-1474611.htm

Menards had it on sale for $45
white01ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-20, 03:19 PM   #5
87supraT
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 15
Thanks (Received): 22
Likes (Given): 48
Likes (Received): 92
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 1
Default

I need to do this as well at my apt.
__________________
87supraT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-20, 03:59 PM   #6
NDWolfwood
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Springs, mo
Posts: 405
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

if you are able...kc p&l does one for free that works amazingly highly programmable
NDWolfwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 01:27 PM   #7
inis
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,548
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 71
Thanks (Received): 58
Likes (Given): 265
Likes (Received): 331
Dislikes (Given): 17
Dislikes (Received): 32
Default

Get a Nest.
__________________
inis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 05:48 PM   #8
Username:*
More awesomer than you
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The banana stand.
Posts: 45,085
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 168
Likes (Given): 337
Likes (Received): 1003
Dislikes (Given): 6
Dislikes (Received): 10
Default

The apartment complex called me and told me now that it's not something that they will do. They told me to go the KCPL route, but when I called them they stated they only do it in MO now. Sooooo it looks like I'm boned.
Username:* is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 06:08 PM   #9
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 29,886
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 70
Likes (Received): 2053
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Wow, the Nest thing looks awesome
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 06:43 PM   #10
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 29,886
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 70
Likes (Received): 2053
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Filtrete 3M50 looks cool too.

I don't have a C wire on mine which would provide power to the stat from the HVAC. This is required for the radio in the 3M50. I wonder if this is the case for the Nest as well.
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 07:26 PM   #11
acvw_insanity
 
acvw_insanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Home
Posts: 1,742
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 57
Thanks (Received): 27
Likes (Given): 208
Likes (Received): 158
Dislikes (Given): 96
Dislikes (Received): 19
Default

http://www.menards.com/main/heating-...429-c-6334.htm

I have this one. It's cheap, it does it's job, and there are lots of programming options.

And I wouldnt have said anything to your apartment owner. just swap her out, put the original one in a safe spot and when you move out, put the original one back in and take the nicer one with you. They are easy to install.
__________________
-Drake-

http://www.webcrawler.com/
acvw_insanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 09:14 PM   #12
01fordgazguzler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: K.C. Kansas
Posts: 3,240
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 15
Likes (Given): 307
Likes (Received): 80
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 5
Default

There are so many options to list. But as listed above. Check how many wires you currently have. Should save you some pain in the long run.
__________________
Your source for CCH/CCW knowledge and information!
01fordgazguzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 09:45 PM   #13
V-dubbin
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lenexa
Posts: 5,318
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 123
Thanks (Received): 92
Likes (Given): 804
Likes (Received): 513
Dislikes (Given): 56
Dislikes (Received): 254
Default

Subscribed. Since I live in the same complex and have the same problem.
V-dubbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 10:05 PM   #14
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 29,886
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 70
Likes (Received): 2053
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

According to NEST Support, the NEST doesn't require a C wire to run the WiFi Radio. Instead it uses the battery power to turn the WiFi on and off intermittently.
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks 01fordgazguzler thanked for this post
BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-21, 10:39 PM   #15
01fordgazguzler
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: K.C. Kansas
Posts: 3,240
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 15
Likes (Given): 307
Likes (Received): 80
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 5
Default

They're sold out. I wonder if Johnstone has them in stock?
__________________
Your source for CCH/CCW knowledge and information!
01fordgazguzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-01-22, 12:39 PM   #16
Dave B
Creating DaveBisms
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Creating DaveBisms
Posts: 12,122
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 15
Thanks (Received): 134
Likes (Given): 25
Likes (Received): 1016
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 65
Default

A basic programmable Honeywell unit will do you just fine. All you really need is a way to program each day for morning, afternoon, night, and bedtime. Anything more than that really isn't needed.
Dave B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.13.37
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like v3.6.3 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright (c) 1993-2021, KCSR.org

R.I.P. Specialist Jason Daniel Lee Mann (JDLM)